Dinner, Healthy, Lunch
Leave a Comment

Thank you Trader Joe’s..

Turkey Meatball & Vegetable Soup

….For saving me this past Friday night.  I don’t mean to brag, I don’t mean to boast (Rapper’s Delight Lyrics).  But for reals, I normally make my own soup all from scratch.  That’s right, from scratch. Mirepoix and all.  Usually using chicken or turkey bones, etc.  You get the drill.  So, after running around all afternoon this past Friday, and oh FREEZing all day, I may add, because it was in the 60’s here in LA, and please don’t think Im a wuss.  As a Los Angeles native, 65-70 is cold to me.  Don’t knock me for it.  My poor little anemic bones just can’t handle it.  So, after a long day of wearing 3 layers, and being UBER busy, I knocked out my marketing and my last stop was Trader Joe’s….

Thankfully I had my (14 yr old) daughter with me. who normally wants nothing to do with with me, let alone actually going into stores with me.  So, she was actually happily fine with the couple of stops we had to make.  Which of course, as any mom knows, makes us happy.  So we walked in to Trader Joe’s, tired, and cold, and what do we smell walking through the door?  Soup. yes Soup.  I immediately called it and said it out loud, “Ohh they are sampling soup”! We ran right over to there sampling area.

Turkey Meatball & Vegetable Soup

Turkey Meatball & Vegetable Soup

I can’t tell you how many times we have gone through Trader Joe’s and sampled their, well, samples. lol.  I am going to say 100% of the time we taste and move on.  I have never purchased the ingredients of what they are sampling.  And I am going to be honest with you, it’s because I say to myself, or to my Husband, or to my daughter, why go the easy route, when I can just make it home made?  Well, this time they got me.

This soup was delicious.  Not to mention, warm.  Comforting.  Just what I needed, from freezing my *** off all day.  They hooked, lined and sunk me.  They had me.  With just 4 ingredients?  I could make this delicious soup tonight for dinner.  Easy Peasy.

My daughter literally, and when I say literally, I mean literally said to me “I can’t believe your actually doing this right now”, as I was piling these soup ingredients into our cart.  LOL.  I laughed and said “I know, but I have to.”  And that was that.  We continued shopping, and got home, and I pulled out my big pot to start my soup.  I could go on and on about whatever, but let’s get down to why you are really here.

Are you ready for this super easy, and surprisingly and absolutely delicious recipe for this darn winter, fall, spring and anytime soup?  4 ingredients, but I added a 5th!  And that is IT!

What you need (All from TJ’s):

* 2 bags of frozen Turkey Meatballs

* 2 containers of Low Sodium Chicken Broth

* 1 container of Salsa

* 1 container of Mirepoix (or make your own like I did, because it was actually the 1 ingredient I forgot at TJ’s) To my Mirpoix I added some fresh garlic as well!

* 1 Bag of Organic Power to the Greens Mix

* Olive oil for saute

* Salt and Pepper (always)

Trader Joe's Soup Ingredients

Trader Joe’s Soup Ingredients

Kale, Chard, Spinach

Kale, Chard, Spinach

How To:

* In a large pot, add a tiny bit of olive oil, and your mirepoix, or your own mix of onion, carrots, and celery on low to medium heat.  Season your veggies with salt and pepper, and cook for about 10 minutes, and add about 2 cloves fresh garlic.  Cook for about 5 minutes more.

* Turn your heat up to medium and add your 2 Containers of Chicken broth, and jar of salsa.  Cook for about 10 minutes, and add your frozen Turkey Meatballs.  Turn on low heat.

* Cook for about 10-20 minutes more.

* About 5 minutes before taking off heat, add in your bag of Power to The Greens mix.  If you do not have this mix, add in any spinach, or kale or any healthy greens that you have, for an extra veggie kick! Season to taste.

Enjoy!

Turkey Meatball & Vegetable Soup

Turkey Meatball & Vegetable Soup

 

Leave a comment